Deleting

Deleting a folder, album, book, calendar, card, or slideshow:

There are several ways to delete an Event from your iPhoto library.

To delete an Event:

Select the Event, then do one of the following:

  • Press Command-Delete.
  • Drag the Event to iPhoto Trash.
  • Choose Photos > “Move to Trash.”

Warning: If you delete an Event that includes photos you have used in a slideshow, book, calendar, card, or published album, the photos will be removed from those projects.

You can retrieve your photos from iPhoto Trash until you empty the Trash, which deletes your photos permanently. To empty iPhoto Trash, select it in the Source list, and then choose iPhoto > Empty Trash.

If you delete an Event by mistake, click Edit > “Undo Move to Trash.”

If this option is dimmed, select iPhoto Trash in the Source list, select the photos you want, and drag them to Photos in the Source list.

You can delete a folder, album, book, calendar, card, or slideshow you’ve created without removing its photos from the photo library.

To delete items from the Source list:

  1. Select the folder, album, book, calendar, card, or slideshow.
  2. Press the Delete key.

You can also delete any one of these items by dragging it to the iPhoto Trash.

To delete text:

  • Select the text and press the Delete key.

If you delete text by mistake, choose Edit > Undo to restore it. (This command restores only the last text you deleted.)


Deleting a photo from the library:

WARNING: Deleting a photo from your library also removes it from any album, slideshow, book, calendar, or card in which it appears.

To delete a photo from the library:

  1. Select the photo you want to delete.
  2. Press the Delete key.
  3. Choose iPhoto > Empty Trash.

You can also delete a photo by dragging it to the Trash in the Source list, then choosing iPhoto > Empty Trash.

If you change your mind about deleting a photo before you empty the Trash, select the Trash, select the photo, and then choose Photos > Restore to Photo Library. You can also drag the item out of the Trash before you choose Empty Trash.

Removing photos from an album:

You can remove photos from an album you’ve created without deleting the photos from your photo library.

To remove photos:

  1. Select the album.
  2. Click to select the photos you want to remove.

Do one of the following:

  • To remove a photo from a regular album, press the Delete key. This removes the photo only from that album, not other albums or your library.
  • To move a photo from a regular album or Smart Album to the Trash, press Command-Option-Delete. (This also removes the photo from the library and from every album, slideshow, and book where it appears.)

You can also remove a photo from a standard album or a Smart Album by dragging it to the Trash in the Source list.

If you remove a photo from an album by mistake, choose Edit > Undo to restore it.

Removing a page from a book:

To remove a page from a book:

  1. Click the Page View button to display book pages in page view.
  2. Select the page you want to remove.
  3. Press Delete.

You can also choose Edit > Delete Page.


Removing a photo from a calendar:

Here are ways to remove photos from a calendar:

  • To remove a photo from a calendar page, select the photo and press Delete. The photo remains in the photo browser.
  • To remove a photo from the photo browser, select the photo in the browser and press Delete.

If you remove a photo from a calendar by mistake, choose Edit > Undo to restore it.

Removing a photo from a greeting card:

Here are ways to remove photos from a card:

  • To remove a photo from a card, select the photo and press Delete. The photo remains in the photo browser.
  • To remove a photo from the photo browser, select the photo in the browser and press Delete.

If you remove a photo from a greeting card by mistake, choose Edit > Undo to restore it.


Removing a photo from a book:

Here are ways to remove photos from a book:

  • To remove a photo from a book page, select the photo and press Delete. The photo remains in the photo browser.
  • To remove a photo from the photo browser, click the Photo browser button, select the photo, and press Delete.

If you remove a photo from a book by mistake, choose Edit > Undo to restore it.