Change iCloud feature settings

You can change which iCloud features you’re using by turning them on or off. You can also turn off iCloud completely if you want to stop using it on one or more of your iOS devices or computers.

Turning off specific features or iCloud may remove some information (for example, your email, Photo Stream, or calendars) from your devices. In most cases, when you turn a feature off, you’re given a choice about what you want to do with your data (except in the case of Notes and Mail; local copies of notes and email are deleted from your device). iCloud stores your data, even after you turn features off, so you can see your information again by turning the feature back on on the device.

Turn iCloud features on or off

Depending on which device’s settings you want to change, do one or more of the following:

  • On your iOS device’s Home screen, tap Settings > iCloud, then tap to turn on or off iCloud features.

    Settings window with iCloud services turned on

  • On a Mac, choose Apple menu > System Preferences, then click iCloud and select (to turn on) or deselect (to turn off) the checkbox beside each feature. (iCloud features in OS X v10.7.5 are listed slightly differently.)

    If your Mac has OS X v10.7.5 and you turn off Calendars & Reminders, your calendar information and reminders aren’t stored locally in iCal. If you want to retain your calendar and reminder information, you need to back it up before turning off iCloud. Go to this Apple Support article to learn how:http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4901.

    System Preferences window with services selected

  • On a Windows computer, open the iCloud Control Panel, then select (to turn on) or deselect (to turn off) the checkbox beside each feature.

    Checkboxes next to iCloud services

    To open the iCloud Control Panel in Windows 8, move the pointer to the upper-right corner of the screen to show the Charms bar, click the Search charm, then click iCloud Control Panel on the left.

    To open the iCloud Control Panel in Windows 7 or Windows Vista, choose Start menu > All Programs > Folder iconiCloud > iCloud Control Panel icon iCloud.

Turn off iCloud completely

Depending on whether you want to stop using iCloud on all or only some devices, do one or more of the following:

  • On your iOS device’s Home screen, tap Settings > iCloud, then at the bottom of the screen, tap Delete Account.

    Delete account button

    Note:  If you delete your iCloud account, iCloud will no longer back up your iOS data. You can still back up your device in iTunes (for more information, open iTunes and choose iTunes > Help).

  • On your Mac, choose Apple menu > System Preferences, and click iCloud. Then click Sign Out.

    If your Mac has OS X v10.7.5 and you turn off iCloud, your calendar information and reminders aren’t stored locally in iCal. If you want to retain your calendar and reminder information, you need to back it up before turning off iCloud. Go to this Apple Support article to learn how: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4901.

    Sign Out button

  • On your Windows computer, open the iCloud Control Panel, then click Sign Out.

    Sign Out button

    To open the iCloud Control Panel in Windows 8, move the pointer to the upper-right corner of the screen to show the Charms bar, click the Search charm, then click iCloud Control Panel on the left.

    To open the iCloud Control Panel in Windows 7 or Windows Vista, choose Start menu > All Programs > Folder iconiCloud > iCloud Control Panel icon iCloud.

Note:  If you turned on automatic download of music, app, or book purchases (in iTunes preferences or your iOS Settings), your iTunes purchases are still downloaded to your devices.